The Mother’s Day Project

War is Personal

Sgt. Trista L. Moretti

New Jersey resident, Sgt. Trista L. Moretti, lost her life on June 25th when her unit was attacked by insurgents in Iraq.  She was 27 years old.

Her death is “a huge loss to the community,” said Natalie Zeno, a coach and teacher at South Plainfield High School, from which Moretti graduated in 1998.

“She was always smiling, always laughing,” Zeno said. “We are better people for having known her.”

Sgt. Trista L. Moretti is the 82nd female casualty among the Coalition Forces serving in Iraq.

5 Comments»

  Future Fallen wrote @

SGT Moretti died two rows down from where I was sleeping. They keep killing us and all we can do is sit and wait to be next. I couldn’t sleep in my can for a few days after her death and now every day that I go to sleep I lay down thinking that this is going to be the day that I die.

  threadingwater wrote @

Thank you for your heartfelt comment. Please know that you have not been forgotten by those of us here at home. We deeply admire your courage and your commitment to the ideals of our Constitution. Many of us are also working hard to bring you home safe – and soon.

My sincere condolences for the loss of Sgt. Moretti and others with whom you have served.

  Robbie wrote @

Dear Future Fallen,
We are thinking of you here at home… I am a friend of Trista’s sister. Your comrade’s death has taken a large toll on me. It pains me to talk to my friend and know that she has experienced such a grave loss. I have a single sibling, an older sister, and I can not fathom the loss. I was just on the internet tonight just looking up information about Trista- I guess I feel I owe it to Jenn (her sister) to know as much about the wonderful young lady that Trista was and to keep her memory alive. I only met Trista once, and that was all I needed to know what a wonderful person she was… I will pray for you all overseas that you get home safely. Thank you for your service to our country. Be safe, and sleep soundly.

  MARY wrote @

I WOULD JUST LIKE TO TAKE THIS OPPORTUNITY TO GIVE TRISTAS FAMILY MY HEATFELT SYMPATHY ON THE LOSS OF THIER DAUGHTER. NEVER HAVE I SEEN AN OBITUARY AS WONDERFUL AS HERS. AS A VETERAN MYSELF, I KNOW HOW PROUD YOUR DAUGHTER MUST HAVE BEEN OF HER ACCOMPLISHMENTS IN THE SERVICE.
SHE WAS ONE OF THE FEW WOMEN IN THIS COUNTRY TO WEAR THE UNIFORM , AND PROUDLY. NOT MANY WOMEN CAN SAY THEY SERVED.
THANKS TO ALL THOSE WHO SERVE, AND I WISH YOU A SAFE RETURN. GOD BLESS.

  Sabrina Marchena wrote @

Sgt. Trista L. Moretti was my best friend for over 16 years. She was not only smart, funny, beautiful, athletic, and loved my many but she was a true HERO and will remain in my heart, thoughts and prayers forever. She was not only a friend but family and I adored her. There isn’t a day that goes by that I do not think about her. May God protect her always and watch over her family. My sister has also served in Iraq twice in the Navy and my brother is currently on his 2nd tour as a Sgt. in the Army. I know that they all love what they do and are proud to serve this country. I just pray for the protection of all of our soldiers. Thank you so much for this site, it is wonderful.
Sincerely
Sabrina Marchena


Leave a Reply

