The Mother’s Day Project

War is Personal

Spc. Zandra T. Walker

A South Carolina woman was one of two Fort Hood, Texas-based soldiers that were killed by enemy fire in Iraq last week. Spc. Zandra T. Walker, 28, of Greenville, South Carolina, was killed along with Sgt. Princess C. Samuels, 22, of Mitchellville, Md., on Wednesday in Taji, Iraq. Their deaths were announced by the Defense Department today.

Walker was assigned to the 4th Battalion, 227th Aviation Regiment, 1st Aviation Cavalry Brigade, 1st Cavalry Division.

Walker fueled helicopters and was serving her second tour with the Army.

Spc. Walker’s twin sister, Yolanda Worthy, also joined the Army and was serving in Kuwait when she learned of her sister’s death. The family was last together earlier this summer to attend the funeral of a younger sister who died of brain cancer.

4 Comments»

  SGT Janisha E. Henry wrote @

I had the pleasure of meeting SPC Walker last summer when we were in Ft. Lee, VA. We were both part of I Co. SPC Walker was such a sweet lady and I remember our last conversation before she graduated. I told her that I knew she was happy to be finally graduating and going home. She talked about how she couldn’t wait to see her family. I wasn’t that close to her and we didn’t talk everyday, but we talked enough to know that she was a very special person. May the Lord please bless her soul and touch the hearts of those who she’s leaving behind. You were my sister in arms SPC Walker and I love you. See you when I get there! R.I.P

SGT Henry

  SGT Emmanuel A. Santiago Martinez wrote @

SPC Walker touched the lives of us who had the pleasure to serve with her. I will never forget her kindness, her good spirit, and her calming voice. I will never forget her beautiful smile. God bless you, Zandra, rest in peace. I will see you in the next one. Love you like a sister with all my heart!!!

  SGT Johnson wrote @

I loved zandra as if she was my sister… I met her at fort bragg… We had got in trouble together, lost rank together and spent time together discussing what she wanted to do in the future. I’m sorry about losing her as a friend… I’m truly sorry. Love Johnson. 😦

  SGT Johndon wrote @

i loved zandra like a sister. she took me in back in 04 when we was stationed together at fort bragg 126th finance bn. zandra and i spent alot of time together. i was all alone when i was fort bragg, all my family was in atlanta at the time. i remember watching movies, eating, and talking about her husband and my wife. everytime i go by fort bragg i want to go by her house to see how shes doing, but i just ride by. now i feel that i should have stopped by. i love you zandra and you will always be missed. smh im just hearing about this today, and its 08!!!! smh. love you and i please watch over your husband. see you later. -Johnson.


Leave a Reply

